Concord

As many of you may or may not know, I am in Concord, North Carolina for the entire summer. I am an intern at Concord First Assembly under the Youth Pastor, Jon Hernandez. So far, so good.

I will be blogging about my experiences as an intern to keep you all informed and to document what I’ve been through.

Day 1 was normal – the general breakdown of what was to come this summer. Pastor Jon wants me to be involved in a research project he is doing, which is focusing on satellite campuses and how we can bring 3sixty5 (the youth program) to these sights. I will also be learning administrative tasks with his assistant Terri, whom I have come to enjoy very much. I will also have the opportunity to sit in several staff meetings, creative meetings and one-on-one meeting with Jon to learn the in’s and out’s of being in full-time ministry.

The host family I am staying with is absolutely incredible. They have welcomed me into their home, making my stay there very comfortable. They are Christine, Ray and Eric, who is their 11 year old son who has a fixation with silly bands. They also have a puppy named Doc, who is so fun and calms the part of me that wants a dog so badly. Nonetheless, they are loving people that I am happy to get to stay with. They have accommodated me with the very best and I couldn’t have asked for more.

Day 2 was good but honestly, I found myself wrestling with emotional stress. I’m in a different place. A place where I have never been before with so many people I don’t know very well at all. I can’t further explain all that I was feeling but I had a conversation with Will about it all and I felt better afterwards.

Day 3 has been better than them all. Tonight will be my first time at 3sixty5 and I am so pumped about it. Things are working out great here, I’d only change the look of my cubicle but that will come in time. I’ll have to go buy a vase and put fresh flowers in here often and put up pictures of my family and friends who I miss daily.

Sorry this was so short and it’s purpose was only to quickly inform you all of what I’ve been up to recently since I got here. I’ll post more, I’m getting a hang of everything right now.

I love you all, and would ask that you just keep me in your prayers 🙂

Leave a Reply

