Amistad

“I decided, very early on, just to accept life unconditionally; I never expected it to do anything special for me, yet I seemed to accomplish far more than I had ever hoped. Most of the time it just happened to me without my ever seeking it.” – Audrey Hepburn

I never planned on beginning or ending the friendships that I had or have. But all of them have shaped the person that I am today, they have expanded the vision of my dreams and hold pieces of my heart that will never be returned.

If I date this back to when I was in Elementary School, I remember 3 friends in specific. Ariel, Kelsey and Courtney. These three were my absolute best – they were there for me when my parents got a divorce and I felt so misunderstood, they were there for me when we all had little boy crushes and would pass around a notebook and write notes to each other. I remember visiting Ariel’s home, she lived in a wooden house on Ft Myers Beach and that haven was absolute bliss in my eyes. The floors would creak early in the morning when the sun would wake you up through the pure white linen curtains. We were all so different. Ariel was tall and blonde, all the boys liked her and she had a charming personality. Kelsey was short and perky, her smile was infectious and she was always in a good mood. Courtney was tiny, so tiny that I remember just how small her hands were. I cherished those three most in my childhood, and I can remember and feel their hugs now. They have all grown up to be such different women – yet all so powerful in their personalities and full of live and laughter. I’d give all that I could to see these three and all be in the same room together to see where life has led us all.

As years went on, I could write about every single friend that I had. I remember them all so vividly. Pamela Jane Rawson is my longest and most consistent friend. I have stayed close to her even now, and we could never grow tired of each other. She has the most loving soul that anyone could have. She weeps at beautiful life moments, she laughs hysterically at things that others would just chuckle at. Pamela is a faithful friend, she’d climb a mountain for you and she’d sacrifice for you to give you what you need in order to be close to her. I never want to lose her as a friend, I only want my friendship with her to grow deeper. I want my children to call her Auntie Pamela, and cry if I tell them they can’t go visit her one summer. I want them to be attached to her and beg me to have her and her children come visit us.

I’m writing all of my introspective thoughts on my relationships with all of my best friends, past and present because each and every one of them have given me deeper insight to who I am today. They have helped form me into who I live to be in present time, unknowingly showing me God in all of their actions and affectionate words.

My perfect world would be for everyone to live in the same town, be together all of the time and continue creating memories together. But if that were the case, then life wouldn’t be fun. I would be stealing everything that life is to be. We were meant to travel, take different paths, meet new people and experience life in all of it’s forms. I thank Our Creator for birthing the desires and dreams that all of these women have. I pray that He would use them all, to reach the deepest darkest places that are flooded with hopeless and broken people and that they would be restored – and be able to see how amazing their lives can be, because they made a connection with these beautiful souls that so deeply touched mine.

I love you all, and miss you terribly.

One Comment to “Amistad”

  1. Jenniferrrr =) I love you so much! Of course that made me cry since it was one of “lifes beautiful moments”.. I appreciate our friendship more than words can say and I am so grateful to have you in my life. I am so proud of the road you have taken in your life and the woman you have become. You are like a sister to me and I love that! I miss you terribly! xoxox Call me & fill me in on everything you’ve been doing! Im free all week but I know youre busy! ❤

Leave a Reply

