Strength in Weakness (Inspired by John Lindell)

In every moment of solitude my mind is processing everything that is presently going on. I’m in a new place, away from my families and away from my friends. I don’t have the relationships that I have in Florida and I need directions everywhere I go. A little out of the loop and frustrating at times because I can’t do things on my own. I cling to my betrothed because I don’t want to be by myself, I want what’s familiar to me. I’ve spent a night or two in tears, wanting everything to feel like home, desperate for those closest to me just to appear and erase the pain I feel because they are far from me.

It’s been recorded in the sacred writings that when we are weak, we are strong (2 Corinthians 12:9-10). God’s strength is made perfect in our weakness. We are offered the depth of a love that relinquishes all fear, a love that we can hold onto when we don’t understand the situations going on around us. A love that gives a strength greater than anything we’ve ever experienced.

Through the times I am able to process what I am currently experiencing, I can see where Christ is tearing off the dead parts of me. The areas of vanity and conceit. I can also see where He’s healing parts of my heart that have been wounded from former things. He is reaching His hand deep into my soul, ridding me of what I’ve been harboring for too long.

If I could ask you for anything it would be to allow yourself to be drawn in closer to God when life is uncomfortable. As foreign as it once was for me to hear those words, it’s now a feeling of home. A reminder, that no matter where I live and no matter how far I am from those closest to me, I will always have what resides within me and He has the ability to calm every anxiety and all fears of unfamiliarity.

My heart knows what is to become of the unknown. Through the foggy windows that present themselves at times, once I wipe them clean I am able to see beautiful things. A community of believers set on changing the city they live in, people going out of their way to make others feel loved, sacrificing so others can be happy. The hand of God is undeniably moving where I stand.

So in this time of transition, I hold tightly to what brought me here in the first place.

One Comment to “Strength in Weakness (Inspired by John Lindell)”

  1. Jen,

    Great Blog. In our Christian Experience, we have seasons of “Hiddenness” and seasons of “Manifestation”. At times we feel as though God is far away and not speaking, other times, we are experiencing Him all the time. I truly believe that it is a spiritual discipline to learn how to live within these seasons. You have describe this very well in your blog. Thanks for the encouragement. Be blessed.

Leave a Reply

