“Act like it”

Today friends were talking about living up to what we talk about, to really be “do-ers” and not “talkers.” I couldn’t agree with her more.

To say that we live for Christ is one thing, but to actually live for him is another. I, by no means, believe that I have this thing down. I am learning every day, I have only but a glimpse of who God is and cannot wait to discover more.

But I couldn’t help but feel convicted by her statement. And as I read the book of Colossians tonight, the beginning sentences were just that.

“So if you’re serious about living this new resurrection life with Christ, act like it. Pursue the things over which Christ presides. Don’t shuffle along, eyes to the ground, absorbed with the things right in front of you. Look up, and be alert to what is going on around Christ—that’s where the action is. See things from his perspective.”  Msg 3:1&2

I believe I have spent more time focusing on my present obstacles, on what is material and seems to be all that my life is about…but that is where I’m wrong. When did my life become all about earthly things and not about heavenly ones?

I say this not to sound legalistic, but to remind myself that life is always about Jesus and my purpose in life is to love him and follow his ways.

When I focus on my surroundings more than I focus on him, I go crazy. Irritable, annoyed, boring. When I allow for his peace to take over me, I’m me again.

So this is a public thank you to our God above, for refocusing my thoughts and allowing me to see life through his lenses yet again. I pray the same for those of you who are reading this tonight too.

Leave a Reply

