Positive Outlook

My victory dance.

I ran again yesterday and this time…no intense breathing, no swirling vision and my insides felt fine. After running I felt pretty empowered and sometimes, that’s how you should feel after a run. My guess is I was dehydrated the last time so I stored up on tons of water yesterday (almost all of the recommended value – 8×8).

I’ve been doing yoga every morning with Tara Stiles on youtube. I pick her because the routines are easy and short, targeted on flexibility and there’s really no better way of waking up for me. I do this routine religiously that I can follow her without looking at the screen. A lot of the time it’s not enough for me though, but with a tight budget I stick to youtube classes 😉

I’ve heard a lot of people talk about how New Years Resolutions don’t stick. Some Facebook statuses declaring their defeat of sugar sweets and sodas, others saying they won’t even pronounce them because they are nothing but feckless attempts to better oneself. But let’s try a different perspective, the approach I am taking.

One of my goals is to become a consistent runner. It’s always been a desire of mine but the motivation behind it was once stale. No one can become a runner overnight if they’ve not been that active before. I cannot expect to put on my sneaks and head out the door with a return of 3-minute miles. If I set realistic goals for myself, I know that I can reach my ultimate goal of running 5k’s.

I have a system where I set goals up for the month and focus only on those. This month one of them is to train for a 5k. I’ve ran 3.1 miles plenty of times but I took a long enough break that I wanted to ease my way back into running. I’m taking baby steps because I don’t want to hurt myself in any way.

Honestly, I can almost immediately hear the little voices of negativity around telling me that’s pretty weak and I should be embarrassed to write that but guess what, I’m not. I had a great run yesterday but my time was not what I’d like it to be. I ran 2 miles in 23 minutes and I’d like that to be lowered. When I see my results I can either take it for good or become discouraged. That’s when I ask myself, “Who am I doing this for?” If the answer is anything other than ME, I have to reevaluate what I’m doing. My goal isn’t to run for others to know that I am able to run 5k’s, it’s so that I can live a better, healthier lifestyle so that I can live longer, stronger and fuller.

With every goal I set for this month, I have rewards for myself if I reach them. Most of them are non-monetary rewards, like “continual development of better health” and “more confidence to be who God made me to be.” I also cannot look at mistakes as failures rather lessons to be learned. Positive outlook people!

Maybe now you have a different perspective on New Years Resolutions.

2 Comments to “Positive Outlook”

  1. great attitude friend 🙂 if you get bored of youtube
    workouts hulu has some pretty good ones too!! just got to the
    health channel i think its called and search them under there, im
    trying to get back into running too and the cold is just ruining it
    for me

Leave a Reply

