eating animals.

Fajitas! Or more like make your own burrito or nachos. We burnt the rice, but I had several helpings of it. It’s been awhile since we’ve visited Chris & Audra, the little lovebirds get hitched on April 9th! Getting married in a front of a tree…brings sweet memories to me! They live in a big, two story house with 4 other people. It’s communal living at it’s best, they take turns fixing dinners every night so that a home-cooked meal is always available to each other. All the furniture is mismatched, their pantry is stacked with food and tons of dishes. Certainly a cozy place to reside. The Snows (they live there) have two cats, one being Betty:

Despite her adorable face sucking me in, I couldn’t hold her…Darn my allergies! I’ve never wanted to snuggle a kitty as much as I did this one. And I am NOT a lover of these creatures.

Perhaps it has to do with a few of the books I’ve been reading. Currently it’s Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer. There is so much debate about the treatment of animals; living in factory farms, what they’re fed and how they’re killed. I never knew any of this! It started with watching Food Inc., a movie whose slogan is “You’ll Never Look at Food the Same Way Again”…and they were right.

Before I can take a full stance, I need to research more. I appreciate that Foer gives you real stories from real farmers (both “family farms” and factory farms), animal activists, scientists and those involved in the food industry. It’s fully grabbed my attention and I can’t shake it off. Here’s a snippet from the story of turkey farmer (he’s not against eating animals, fyi):

“One of the local pediatricians was telling me he’s seeing all kinds of illnesses that he never used to see. Not only juvenile diabetes…inflammatory and autoimmune diseases that a lot of the docs don’t even know what to call. And girls are going through puberty much earlier, and kids are allergic to just about everything, and asthma is out of control. Everyone knows it’s our food.”

Then he continues with…
“We’re messing with the genes of these animals and then feeding them growth hormones and all kinds of drugs that we really don’t know enough about. And then we’re eating them.”

It’s so controversial. What are your thoughts? I feel like the last one to know, but I’m thankful for stumbling across all of this. I have so many questions and slowly they’re all being answered.

 


One Trackback to “eating animals.”

Leave a Reply

