got milk?

William is sick and it’s all my fault.
His body is achey, he’s super warm and currently he’s hibernating in our bed making little whiney noises. I come to his rescue when he needs me though. He has been taking care of me, so now I’ll take care of my bunny. He’s subbing a social studies class tomorrow, so I’m waking up early to cook him breakfast so he has his energy! The one meal I’ve mastered.

Tonight we hit up another Oyster Roast, and no I’ve yet to try the little things. This time my excuse was my stuffy nose. Without the ability to taste I cannot properly enjoy the delicacy. Perhaps next time I’ll brave the slimy seafood and who knows, I might even like it! No pictures were snapped, with the both of us sick we were only there for a bit. We came home and made delicious black beans & rice. Good things come when you wait, that’s for sure. It took 30 minutes, so we ate around 10pm, which is late! I’m mixing in some peas for in it for my lunch tomorrow, I can hardly wait.

While we’re on the subject of food… (When are we not?)
I came across NoMeatAthlete.com. Informative and educating, I spent a few hours on it today. I’m not entirely convinced that eating meat is terrible for you, my one question I have today is…B12 is so important for us to have and it’s mainly found in meat/dairy/eggs. If you’re vegan, you have to take supplements to make sure you’re getting enough…so how ironic is that? I’m sure this question can be answered easily, I just haven’t taken the time to research it. I’m learning a lot about dairy and the implications of it.

Dairy Facts:

  • Cows nurse their calves who go from 90 lbs to 2000 lbs in 2 years. Cow’s milk is meant to produce growth for their babies. Humans are the only ones that drink milk from another species.
  • The National Dairy Council spent $190 Million on the Got Milk? campaigns. So…producers of dairy promote dairy.
  • Osteoporosis is highest where dairy is consumed the most.
  • “Cow’s milk is #1 cause of food allergies among infants and children”

All of this taken from NMA, it’s interesting. Even though I’m lactose-intolerant, it doesn’t affect me when I bake with it but I still choose to use soy milk. I love the taste of real milk but reading “the ugly side” of it all makes me reconsider.

Let me know your thoughts, I like the feedback. I’m off to take care of my husband.

And since I’m so excited about going home, here’s my little mouse again! Cannot wait to wrap her in my arms again. Apparently I make this face often, hence the photo strip to your right.

Leave a Reply

