add life to your days, not days to your life.

Bagels. My love affair with them was long lived, always eating them at both opportune and inopportune times. In the mornings, toasted with light cream cheese. As a sandwich with fresh mozzarella and tomato. Or perhaps even a late night snack, just plain.

Then, the worst possible thing that could happen to a Lover of All Bagels (which would be me, in case you aren’t following), I was diagnosed with celiac disease. Meaning I couldn’t (and still cannot) eat anything with gluten in it, so basically everything. Including but no limited to: BAGELS, bread, cereal, pasta, fried rice from cheap asian take-out, crackers, cookies, muffins, cupcakes, cannolis, empanadas, quesadillas, even ice cream. I quickly discovered alternatives for the things I could not live with out but sadly, GF bagel hunting has deemed a failure. None of them taste the same, a bagel made from rice/corn flour is not the same as a bagel made from wheat.

Ah, food. So simple but so effing complicated.

Now that you legitimately feel sorry for me (and if you don’t, you totally should!) let me give you some other struggles I’ve had with FOOD. As previously mentioned, I read Eating Animals and watched Food Inc., they WRECKED MY LIFE. I already couldn’t eat normal stuff but now I cringe at the facts I’ve been given. The food industry is disgusting and the USDA is corrupt.

How simple is it the turn the packaging around and read the labels of foods? For me, it was novel! My mouth has dropped at the amounts of unnecessary ingredients found in them, also how horrible these ingredients are. Everything started linking in my head, perspective was placed in front of me and I changed my diet, again. I’m not a snob, I just care what people put into their bodies and am an advocate of it.

Hesitation now put aside, I openly admit to you all my antics with what I’ve been eating. But no fear, I eat greatly. As in great foods in great amounts. I’ve become aware of what I’m eating and don’t just take what I’ve been given. Which is so important because we all want to live long, beautiful and healthy lives. I also believe that no two men are alike, so we need to cater to what fits who we are and not simply do things because others are doing them.

It’s incredible the way people are offended when someone says “I don’t eat meat” or “I’m a vegan.” Always keep in mind, that person isn’t saying that to make you feel bad and it’s also not an open invitation to criticize their eating habits. Appreciate their honesty, applaud it even. But let’s not be concerned with the labels and let’s just do what makes us feel best, encouraging one another to make smart decisions that affect every area of our lives. And focusing too much on something can create anxiety, so let’s not do that either.

If we eat right, it makes us happy. If we’re happy, we have good days or handle the bad days as best we can. We want to add life to our days, not days to our lives.

 

Footnote: I didn't make the title up, I don't know where it's from. Picture source.
2 Comments to “add life to your days, not days to your life.”

  1. I’m with you on this! I love the title of your post, what truth!

  2. I think about the balance of our desicions… I totally agree with you! 😉

Leave a Reply

