my friday night

Today is my friday, I’m all alone with a pint of sea salt caramel gelato (which I’ve refrained from inhaling…) and my Pandora set on Florence + The Machine* which is currently playing “Heads Will Roll” by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs…and I am more than okay with this all. Will.i.am is having a night of bromance consuming copious amounts of wings. Everything went just right today, minus the teeny fact that I filled my car with gas and it’s already on empty.

It started off with breakfast with Jessica, we exchanged gifts. Her borrowed flash and my wedding pictures. Baby Eily was also there, I’ve never seen a baby smile as much as this one. Everyone was staring at her in the restaurant (or they were staring at me…we won’t ever truly know). Jess ordered an omelet and was blown away by what she received…which didn’t resemble any sort of omelet but rather an inflated something made from cheese. Take a looksy:

Moving on…

I had a conversation with a friend today and heard what was really disheartening about an experience they had with a church they used to attend. The words they used to express themselves were everything opposite of what these places are supposed to be like. Shining a light (small or large) on this matter, I’ll put it simply: A place of meeting where the Gospel of Jesus is shared is to be a place of freedom. A place where you come as you are and are refreshed by the reality of Jesus and the power of His Spirit. Always about doing all that we can to share the truth that has changed our lives dramatically.

I read the pages in the New Testament about the way the first disciples “did church” and it’s so simple, so easy. William visited Israel and showed me a picture of where they used to meet. Someone standing (or perhaps, sitting) on a rock and everyone standing/sitting on the sand listening. The story of Jesus, the Kingdom of God has more than enough to capture the attention of anyone and everyone without us having to do anything…but share it.

It’s all pretty captivating, I’d say.

Happy weekend, xxo.
I’m celebrating Easter on the beach with a sunrise and friends.

*Not to be confused with “Lina and The Machine,” even though it’s easy to confuse because they are both ridiculously amazing. Enough said. 

One Comment to “my friday night”

  1. you are too much. i just love you.

Leave a Reply

